Navratri, literally “Nine Nights” is a Hindu Festival celebrated in Autumn every year for different reasons in various parts of the India. The celebrations of the festival includes stage decorations, recital of the legend, enacting of the story, and chanting of the scriptures of Hinduism. These nine days are also a major crop season cultural event, such as competitive design and staging of pandals, a family visit to these pandals and the public celebration of classical and folk dances of Hindu culture.

Celebrations during Navratri include stage decorations, enactment and recitals of the legends, and chanting of the Hinduism scriptures.

There are different forms of goddesses worshipped on each of the 9 days with their individual significance. The various forms are:

Day 1: Shailaputri


This day is associated to Shailaputri, literally "Daughter of Mountain", which is an incarnation of Parvati. The Goddess is worshiped as the consort of Shiva, depicted as riding Nandi with a trishula in her right hand and lotus in her left.

Day 2: Brahmcharini


Goddess Brahmcharini is worshiped on Dwitiya, who is another incarnation of Parvati and became Sati in this form. She is worshiped for moksha and endowment of peace and prosperity. She symbolizes peace and tranquility, which is depicted through bare feet walking and japamala and kamandalu in the hands.

Day 3: Chandraghanta


Chandraghanta is worshipped on Tirthiya - the name derived after Parvati married Shiva and adorned her forehead with a half lit moon. She is symbolic of valor and the embodiment of beauty.

Day 4: Kushmunda


On Chaturthi, Goddess Kushmunda is worshiped, who is believed to be the creative power of the universe. She sits on a tiger and is depicted as having eight arms.

Day 5: Skandmata


Panchmi celebrates Skandamata, the mother of Skand (or Kartikeya), whose strength transforms when her child is confronted with danger. She is depicted with four arms holding her baby and riding a ferocious lion.

Day 6: Katyayani


She is an incarnation of Durga, who is born to sage Katya and is shown to exhibit courage. She is considered as the most violent forms of Parvati, who is also known as the warrior goddess. This avatar is shown with riding a lion and with four hands.

Day 7: Kalratri


The most ferocious form of Goddess Durga, Kalaratri, who is believed that Parvati removed her fair skin and turns black to kill the demons Sumbh and Nisumbh.

Day 8: Mahagauri


Mahagauri depicts optimism. She symbolizes intellect and peace. The color Pink is associated with this day.

Day 9: Sidhidatri


0n the last day of Navratri, known as Navami, people pray to Siddhidaatri (Ardanareeswara). She sits on a lotus, has four arms and is also known as Saraswati. She possesses and bestows all type of Siddhis.

As the auspicious festival commences, Hotel Park Ocean- the best hotel on Sikar Road wishes you all a happy and prosperous Navratri!